Latest Posts -

First Line Friday & Freebie: Deft the Stars by Stephanie Parent

Title: Defy The Stars
Author: Stephanie Parent
Genre: YA (Contemporary Romance, Poetry)

Synopsis. Julia Cape: A dedicated classical piano student just trying to get through her last semester of high school while waiting to hear from music conservatories.

Reed MacAllister: A slacker more likely to be found by the stoners’ tree than in class.

Julia and Reed might have graduated high school without ever speaking to each other…until, during a class discussion of Romeo and Juliet, Julia scoffs at the play’s theme of love at first sight, and Reed responds by arguing that feelings don’t always have to make sense. Julia tries to shake off Reed’s comment and forget about this boy who hangs with the stoner crowd—and who happens to have breathtaking blue eyes—but fate seems to bring the two together again and again. After they share an impulsive, passionate kiss, neither one can deny the chemistry between them. Yet as Julia gets closer to Reed, she also finds herself drawn into his dark world of drugs and violence. Then a horrific tragedy forces Julia’s and Reed’s families even farther apart…and Julia must decide whether she’s willing to give up everything for love.

Defy the Stars is written in an edgy free-verse style that will appeal to fans of Ellen Hopkins and Lisa Schroeder; however, the writing is accessible enough to speak to non-verse fans as well. The novel’s combination of steamy romance and raw emotion will appeal to fans of Gayle Forman, Simone Elkeles, Jennifer Echols, and Tammara Webber. With a story, language and form that both pay homage to and subvert Shakespeare’s play, Defy the Stars is much more than just another Romeo and Juliet story.
 View it on  Goodreads | Amazon

First, let me just say that this book is listed FREE on amazon right now! Not sure how long that will be, so hurry over and check it out! If the price isn't enough to sway you, i'm sure the first line will. This book is written in a beautiful poetry type format! Here's the first line:

A quiet morning,
an empty practice room,
and Chopin's first ballad--
this is the best part of my day.

     About the Author     
Stephanie Parent is a graduate of the Master of Professional Writing program at USC and attended the Baltimore School for the Arts as a piano major. She moved to Los Angeles because of Francesca Lia Block's WEETZIE BAT books, which might give you some idea of how much books mean to her. She also loves dogs, books about dogs, and sugary coffee drinks both hot and cold.
  Stephanie Around the Web:   Blog  |  Goodreads  |  Twitter  


With love,

Twitter  |  Goodreads  |  Facebook  |  Google+  |  Pinterest 

Posted on Friday, February 15, 2013

Share this Post :

Post a Comment

Copyright © 2011. A Love For Lit - All Rights Reserved